Association of Illinois School Library Educators

News and Information

It’s All About Advocacy!

Click here to explore tips and action plans with ready-to-go resources to assist you in advocating for your students, staff and library program. These ideas will highlight the value of school libraries and the library staff—stressing the importance of partnering, collaborating and communicating. See a snapshot of what advocacy should look like in your school library and why it is so crucial to maintain a thriving library program.

Webinar Recordings

AISLE is dedicated to providing school librarians in the state of Illinois with the resources that they need. Since mid-March we have been providing webinars to help you through this time. Our webinars have been recorded and added to our website. Webinars will be added as we continue through the coming months. For full access to all webinars from AISLE, please consider becoming a member.

Open Webinar Materials 2020

AISLE Partners with RAILS

Check out RAILS' new campaign to promote partnership in Illinois. Go to: mylibraryis.org for resources, toolkits, and talking points for school libraries. This includes the Sharing Showcase where we can highlight best practices and promote the value of school libraries. We welcome your small and big library success stories!

Linking for Learning

Linking for Learning, The Illinois School Library Standards, 4th Edition provides guidance for everyone involved in evaluating a school library. It includes standards encompassing Planning and Instruction, Learning Environment, Library Administration, and Leadership. Linking for Learning provides support and encouragement for all school librarians. It also includes an important focus on building/district administration with standards and rubrics dedicated to them.

Order a copy for yourself and one for each of your administrators. It is great to use for self-evaluation and advocacy. Always keep a copy on your desk for reference. The cost is $36.00 and can be ordered here.


Linking for Learning is also available as an e-book from Amazon for $25.oo. Click here to order from Amazon and be sure to use Amazon Smile.

The most current version of I-SAIL!
If you are interested in a framework to teach the needed skills in all content areas you will want to click here. Remember these standards, benchmarks, and objectives are aligned to the new Illinois Common Core Standards, AASL and NGSS as well as the ISTE standards.

Start sailing...


Member Services

Member Login

Not a member?
Become a member now!

Forgot Your Login?

We send it to your email.


External Links

Date Modified: 09/28/2021